Home > Inspire, Journal, Movie > “Even Misfits can fit in”: Benny & Joon (Movie Review)

“Even Misfits can fit in”: Benny & Joon (Movie Review)

It was a gloomy morning for me. The sun is behind the clouds and it is somewhat raining. I slept last night wondering of things and woke up feeling the same thing.

After two hours of slacking into my bed, I pulled myself up and made toast and tea for breakfast. I looked for a decent movie (in my landlords collection).

http://deppmad.tripod.com/id10.html

That’s when I found an old movie called “Benny and Joon.” You know how I do my reviews ae. I don’t put a summary or plot here on my blog but instead find things to ponder within that movie. To tell you honestly, I still can’t find the proper words for this review. haha

I have been fascinated with movies that are about Psychological problems and Misfits.A factor why I liked the movie was because of Johnney Depp. He is really a great actor. He had portrayed lots of characters throughout the years.

“She paints, she reads, she sets things on fire.” – Benny

Being mentally ill, Joon just does a routine everyday. Most days she just does these things. Hey what’s wrong with these? Ain’t these so fun and relaxing yeah. (excluding the fire part. lol)

“Having a Boo Radley moment, are we?” – Joon

I still remember him from the book “To Kill a Mockingbird.” Everyone seems to be fascinated with him even though most are scared. Like I am, misunderstood by people as being antisocial or too introvert at times, I like to detach myself to people and be alone. I always tell people that sometimes I just need to step back to see the reality. You can understand life more by doing such. Same with people, you can understand someone once you get to know him personally. Never be judgemental on things, people and life.

“Joon: Did you have to go to school for that?

Sam: No, no, I got thrown out of school for that.”

There are things that are not learned from school. People have either innate talent or developed skill. Sometimes, those people who are pulled down by others are the ones who push themselves more to be better.🙂

“He keeps me up at night watching stupid old movies, my work is starting to suffer.” – Mike

There are times when you found someone to be a bit burden on you, and sometimes you can’t see their importance because you’re blinded with things. Giving them a chance to show their skills and capabilities. You might even discover that he/she is a blessing in disguise.🙂

On Misfits:

I think I am an example of Misfit person. I’m not too mainstream or too hipster. I’m the “In Between.” I don’t pretend to be someone I’m not just to fit in. I have my own pace in life and in almost everything. Misunderstood by people, I developed this attitude of “I don’t care if they’re talking about me.” Of course I still do care about what they think of me but I’m not pretentious. I can’t say that I am eccentric like Sam (Depp). But I know I’m indifferent. you don’t need to explain yourself. Be who you are. Show them what you’re capable.

BENNY & JOON: 4 THUMBS UP

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

