Home > Inspire, Literature, Movie, Travel > Life Inspiration: “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” (Movie review)

Life Inspiration: “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” (Movie review)

It’s been so long since I last had a movie or book review here. Anyway, I watched this movie on New Year’s Day and I can say that it is a great movie to jumpstart my 2014. The title itself made me curious on what the story is all about besides that it is a Ben Stiller movie. Anyway, read on if you’re interested on what I saw in this movie.

I wouldn’t even start spoiling you with summary of narration of the movie. Go watch it yourself!!lol. hehe. I watched the trailer and all I can think of was maybe I should watch this in theater instead of me waiting for its copy. It might not be a popcorn movie, but I know that it is worth paying for.  It’s about love, life, finding oneself and journey. Maybe it’s a bit hipsterish.lol haha. If you’re into photography, journalism, mystery, life story and travelling, you would enjoy this.

There are also life inspiring quotes which I recall from the movie.

 “Beautiful Things don’t ask for attention.” – Certainly, the least noticeable things are the most beautiful of all. Sometimes even the most dangerous things are the most exciting to do.

“Life is about courage and going into the unknown.” – You don’t need a lot of courage to try something. Just trust yourself and you can do anything. J Not knowing is scary, but not trying is scarier.

“To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other and to feel. That is the purpose of life.” – This is the highlight quotation from the movie. It is simple yet very inspiring and straight to the point.

I’m like Walter in a sense that sometimes I have this Zone out moments but not to the point of exaggerating over things. Haha. I mean like a day dreaming sort of Zone out. I was scared to try things. I was stuck in one point of my life not knowing what to do next. But certainties made me try new things in life and made me realize what I’m missing.

I’m not sure if I told you that I’m not a risk taker when I was younger. The fear of failure and rejection comes whenever we think of risks. But you won’t be able to conquer or do anything unless you try isn’t it. You’re just trying to escape or take another way instead of trying. Life is full of risks to jump into. Whether it’s going to be worth it or not, you just need to see the world and experience it. If you won’t succeed the first time, it’s normal. Try again until you get the satisfaction that you want. Never keep yourself in a box. Explore and see the world in a different perspective. You might be surprised on what you’re missing. Being frightened is normal, you can take baby steps and even bring a torch to lessen that fear. You can ask for help if there’s a need. You can also ask for a company (friend/ family) so you won’t feel alone going thru that risky rocky path that you’ll take. Never stop dreaming. Never stop trying.

Seeing this movie made me want to explore more, find myself more and take risks farther than I expect to. At this point of my life, I’m going thru certain issues and life decision. I am afraid, but that doesn’t mean I’ll stop trying.

Hope that I inspire you with something upon my review.

THE SECRET LIFE OF WALTER MITTY: 5 THUMBS UP 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

