Home > Inspire, Journal, Personal Journal, Soul searching in WA > An encounter with my Achilles’ Heel

An encounter with my Achilles’ Heel

So long time no post ei. So it’ll be my second month here in Bunbury Australia. So far so good. I mean come to think of it, my first month was really that hard, especially that I am alone. I have no family nor friends here with me to help me sort things out or just even listen to my problems, rants and joys.

But that first month, even though it was tough for me, seemed to have helped me improve and mature. I had mixed emotions throughout that month. From the excitement of starting my work, to meeting new people and of different nations, time of coping up, maybe a little of culture shock, frustrations, jealousy, pressure and depression. It was my first time to even experience these emotions in my life and problems which I can proudly say that I solved.

After that first month, I had a few realizations. I must be able to stand up on my two bare feet, be strong and be mature with things. Yeah I admit that I was really pressured at my work. I can’t cope up with how they want me to work. I mean they thought that I have a lot of experience towards work that’s why during my first month they kept on pushing me hard, as in really hard. There was this time that I thought I messed up things and I wanted to cry. But I didn’t, instead I still carried myself well. At home that night, it was when I cried. Hehe. I won’t let anybody at work see me cry or lonely. It took days before I started to be back with my cheerful self. I mean it took me long before I stopped thinking about my frustrations and stopped pressuring myself more. Expectations, they ruin things okay.

When things cleared out for my chefs that I wasn’t well experienced, they said sorry for they treated me hard. Since then, they were patiently teaching me and answering my questions.

These days, I do better on my work. I coped up fast without me realizing it. I pleased and impressed my chefs with my work. I am too is impressed on how far I’ve come through since day 1.

My family and friends might know that I am independent and strong. This independency and strength of mine were really put to test with my situation and location now. Who would have thought that I can surpass those challenges. Yeah, even the strongest person has his/her own Achilles’ Heel (weakness).

Cheers,

Hannah

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

