Home > Book > The Curious Incident of the dog in the night-time ( A semi- book review)

The Curious Incident of the dog in the night-time ( A semi- book review)

I was searching for something to buy one time I’m at the mall. I wanted to buy something for myself because I’m too sad that day. I tried looking on book-thrift stores and music stores.

Before going home, I finally went to National Bookstore. I prefer buying here because I have a membership card. I tried Powerbooks but they pulled out their membership.

Anyway, I searched for Haruki Murukami and Paulo Coelho. I need to have any book from them. (I’ll just leave this story on my next book blog). On my way to the cashier, a book captured my interest. That red book with an upside down silhouette of a dog. The Curious Incident of the dog in the night-time.

The Book (Photo by Hannah Nacis (me))

I read it’s plot from the book’s back cover. What captured me was the main character, Christopher. He was a gifted fifteen year old boy who is autistic. I remembered the movie “Mozart and the Whale” which has got to do about autism.

And also, I am really into books who features children.

Reading the book put me into a trance. It’s as if I’m inside the book and experiencing it. I also remembered my Dad. It also reminded me of my Geometry class back in highschool. I was so dumbfounded in every geometry problems we are solving. I am good at math but geometry was an exception for me.

Have you ever come to something you saw on tv or read in a book or magazine then later you actually experienced it? I don’t know how to word out my thoughts about this but I did experience such thing.

Some quotes I like:

“On the fifth day, which was a Sunday, it rained very hard. I like it when it rains hard. It sounds like white noise everywhere, which is like silence but not empty.”

“Sometimes we get sad about things and we don’t like to tell other people that we are sad about them. We like to keep it a secret. Or sometimes, we are sad but we really don’t know why we are sad, so we say we aren’t sad but we really are.”

“Lots of things are mysteries. But that doesn’t mean there isn’t an answer to them. It’s just that scientists haven’t found the answer yet.”

“And then I thought that I had to be like Sherlock Holmes and I had to detach my mind at will to a remarkable degree so that I did not notice how much it was hurting inside my head.”

“The world is full of obvious things which nobody by any chance ever observes.”

I know the feeling behind these quotes. Reading these made me nod my head to things especially when I’m sad.

I remembered something I read which is something like this,

“A certain book waits to be read at the right time. It will call you to pick it up.”

I think this book is really timely for me. While reading it, I seem to forget my sadness and all the negativity I experienced.🙂

The Curious Incident of the dog in the night-time: 5 Thumbs Up

  1. June 7, 2012 at 21:04

    omigosh! i love this book! pinagsama-sama lahat ng gusto ko: math, psychology, suspense. haha at ni-try ko pa nga isolve yung isang parang math problem dun, di ko kinaya! haha

    • June 7, 2012 at 22:33

      sumakit ulo ko dun e.. geometry kasi. haha. spoiler nung sherlocke holmes. meron pa naman ako nun nakaseal pa.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

