Home > Paintings,etc > First time in an Art Exhibit Opening

First time in an Art Exhibit Opening

My boyfriend likes to go to Art Galleries most of the time. Upon seeing an Ad from his contacts, we decided to attend an exhibit opening.

AIAE Homecoming

Last March 05,2012 in Ayala Museum Asian International Art Exhibit was held. Many Filipino Artists participated in this exhibit. One of the artist was Max Balatbat who made Putabangketa.

"Putabangketa" by Max Balatbat

Real Ladies Underwear were used in his work. Cool right. But come to think of it, the message is deep.

There are also some works that caught my attention.

"Punching bag with pacifiers" by Christina Quisimbing Ramilo

"Excubisionist Cat" by Aba Lluch Dalena

"Dambana ni San Miguel" by Ross Capili

One of the most memorable thing happened. We met the artist of this work:

"A Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" by Maxine Syjuco

She was a friend of my boyfriend’s professor in college. We approached her and she gave her calling card to us. WOW! I was starstrucked. I never thought that she was nice. I was sort of intimidated by her beauty. As in.

It was my first time to attend an exhibit opening. It was somehow a cocktail party event but my bf and I were dressed down for the place.. hehe.. I think we also saw some other artists but we didn’t approached them because they were talking to somebody.

But the whole experience is refreshing and cool.🙂

*All photos were taken by me (Hannah Nacis). Sorry for the low quality photos. I just used my Pentax Optio.

  1. March 21, 2012 at 01:53

    the post traumatic stress disorder art seemed nice!

    • March 21, 2012 at 07:31

      How it was made was fascinating..

  2. Ross Lim
    April 13, 2012 at 15:06

    wow! you met maxine syjuco? she’s amazing!

    • April 15, 2012 at 08:20

      yes I did. I think she’s really cool🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

