Home > Book > Daddy Long Legs Book Review

Daddy Long Legs Book Review

I was so sad that the only book that I was searching is almost out of stock to all bookstores I went. They told me that DLL is made to order or for special order, in this way, it will be more expensive.😦

I was about to give up, but thankfully, Powerbooks called me saying that it had arrived.

I used to remember the old cartoon Judy Abbott. I always watched it back then.  A friend told me that a sort of Korean Adaptation was made.

Anyway, I think I have this thing about young adults’ books such as Daddy Long legs, The Little Prince, the Secret Garden and such.. Maybe they give me a certain feeling, a feeling of being young, always young.🙂

Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster - Random House publisher

Daddy Long Legs is about an orphan named Jerusha(later became Judy) Abbott. She was about to leave the orphanage and thankfully, one Trustee of the home was enticed after hearing her essay. He, then, wants to send Judy to college to become a writer. Judy just needs to write a letter to him once a month to tell him about how she is on her studies. Judy, without seeing him and know nothing about him, only saw his shadow and decides to call him Daddy Long Legs. This novel will bring you to places and will make you see a different point of view (POV).

Jean Webster, the author, being a social activist and such adopts some of her real stories in the novel.

I was totally into it. It is seldom that I finish a book within a day. Like the Little Prince, I was so enticed into Daddy Long Legs that I finished it for almost 10 hours or less. Everytime I see some interesting words, i will look it up in my dictionary(yet i forget them easily.lol). I also got a lot of interesting sayings from the book. Learnings such as about college, friends, love and life are to be seen in the novel. Here are some sayings from the book:

“Some of the girls sell their textbooks when they’re through with them, but I intend to keep mine. Then after i’ve graduated I shall have my whole education in a row in the bookcase and when I need to use any detail, I can turn to it without the slightest hesitation. So much easier and more accurate than trying to keep it in your head.”

“I think that everyone, no matter how many troubles he may have when he grows up, ought to have a happy childhood to look back upon.”

“It is funny how certain places get connected with certain people, and you never go back without thinking of them.”

I did learn a lot from the book. I thought of it as to be an entertainment, but it seems that I was taught with some life lessons.

Daddy Long Legs: 5 Thumbs up!!

* One of the saleslady told me that one publisher have Jean Webster’s Daddy Long Legs and Dear Enemy in one book. I wasn’t aware that Dear Enemy (about Sallie Mcbride-Judy’s roomate) was the sequel of DLL. I’ll buy it as soon as I have my own room.(real soon)🙂

  1. minerva
    December 27, 2011 at 22:35

    how much when you the daddy long legs book… i want to buy mine,, i dont know where to buy it😦 hope u can help me and also where to buy dear enemy🙂

    • January 12, 2012 at 11:49

      I ordered it via “Powerbooks”. I had a hard time searching it in every bookstore that’s why I had to make special order. Try doing it also. They would also check on the price.🙂

  2. July 14, 2013 at 08:11

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web page, for the reason that i wish for enjoyment, since this this site
    conations genuinely nice funny stuff too.

  3. July 22, 2013 at 22:06

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

